The AKIRAIFUKUBE.ORG Biography is currently divided into eleven sections. Parts I through XII deal with Ifukube's life since his birth until the late 1970s. There is also a Brief Biography that quickly covers the most notable aspects of his life and career.

Please note that the Main Biography is a work in progress; as new parts are written, they will be added to the site over time.


Part I - Family Origins and Childhood


Part II - The University Years


Part III - The Music of the Forest


Part IV - The War Years


Part V - The Birth of a Film Composer


Part VI - Ballets and Bombs


Part VII - Godzilla


Part VIII - Good Music is Always Simple


Part IX - Myths, Monsters and Laments


Part X - To Conquer and Slay the Cause of Opposition


Part XI - Film Composer Triumphant


Part XII - A New Direction


Brief Biography

The biography text is by Erik C. Homenick, the webmaster of AKIRAIFUKUBE.ORG. Information has been researched and gathered from several sources and those sources are credited at the bottom of each section of the Main Biography. Very special thanks are due to Junko Johnson, Hiroshi Kawakami, Motoji Yssimal, Reiko Yamada, Satoshi Imai, Hirohiko Nagase, Kaoru Wada and Shogo Yamaguchi for providing translations and historical information. My gratitude to John DeSentis for his help analysing various musical materials. Merci beaucoup to Lorena Bowser for her help in proofreading and giving constructive criticism to the ever-expanding biography text. Much appreciation to Jim Figurski and Tyler Martin for providing valuable feedback. Thanks also to Steve Ryfle and Ed Godziszewski for allowing me to reference their superlative writings throughout the biography. Many, many thanks to Deborah Minkin for her willingness to speak with me and to provide valuable information on her time living and working in Japan. A big arigato is due to Atsushi, Kiwami and Tohru Ifukube for furnishing historical information and photographs.

© Erik Homenick. All rights reserved.